I’ve Joined The Club..

If I ever thought I’d get signed off work due to stress/anxiety at the age of 26? – NO! I mean, does anyone? It’s something that happens to OTHER people, possibly something I’ve though might happen in a VERY (VERY!) distant future but not something I thought I’d ever see happen so soon. 

I’ve been off work for a week now, I’m on anti-anxiety meds and pending my first counseling session and I know I’ll be ok. But what I find scary is that I know I’m not the only person with this problem – far from it! Almost everyone I speak to are or have, at some point in their lives, been on some form of anti-anxiety/anti-depressant medication, or, if they haven’t themselves, they sure as hell know someone who has. Why is it that such an insane amount of the population in todays society need to be “drugged up” to cope with life? Is it because we’re forced to make too many big decisions early on in life (i.e What to be when we grow up? What do I need to study to get there? Where do I want to go to uni? Where do I want to live?), or is it that we simply have TOO MUCH CHOICE? Maybe the whole “You can do whatever you want and be whatever you want to be”-mentality is just stressing people out…? At least people like me who want to do SO MUCH but feel like they don’t have enough time to do half of it…

I guess I should see this unexpected time off as an opportunity to really take stock and reflect on my life…and start making plans for the future…  😉

lipstickheader

Leave a comment